Welcome to our product information section where we have tried to provide answers to consumer questions relating to serving facts, nutrition, gluten, GMO, calories, proof, allergens, organic and Kosher.
Nutrition by brand category.
Blended Whiskey
Bourbon
Brandy & Cognac
Canadian
Cocktails
Cordials & Liqueurs
Gin
Rum
Rye Whiskey
Scotch, Irish, Welsh Whiskies
Shooters
Tequila
Vodka
Wine


Government Warning: (1) According to the Surgeon General, women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects. (2) Consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.

The numbers above are based on calculated values.



To help our customers make informed choices, we have provided the following additional information about our products. If you have any questions that we haven’t addressed below, please email us info@sazerac.com.

Gluten
Unless our product is specifically labeled "Gluten Free," we make no claims to the gluten free nature of the products.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and crossbred hybrids of those grains. Our bourbons are made from corn, barley malt and rye with the exception of our "wheated" bourbons. The alcohol in our cordials, gins and vodkas are made primarily from corn with the exception of Wheatley Vodka which is made with wheat.

Although U.S. regulations formerly prohibited "Gluten-free" advertising claims for any alcohol beverage, the United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) recently issued a ruling permitting producers of certain alcoholic beverages made entirely from ingredients that do not contain gluten to make "Gluten-free" claims provided that they take appropriate measures to prevent cross-contact with gluten-containing grains during production, processing, storage, and handling. In the coming months and years, we will be working with TTB to qualify as many of our products as possible to be labeled "Gluten-free."

GMO
We require our suppliers of corn used to distill whiskeys at our Buffalo Trace Distillery and A. Smith Bowman Distillery to certify to us that they are supplying us with non-GMO crops. We randomly test lots on a periodic basis for the presence of GMO markers commonly associated with genetically modified strains of corn and reject any lots we discover that fail to meet our standards. Due to the overall and ongoing shortage of non-GMO corn we are unable, at this time, to obtain non-GMO corn for our other distilleries and plants.

Apart from the foregoing statements, we make no claims concerning the use of non-GMO ingredients to make our products, however, we have also commissioned independent laboratory tests of many of our most popular products to detect the presence of DNA associated with genetically modified strains of corn. Click here to view samples of these testing results and click here to view additional information regarding the GMO policies of some of our primary suppliers.

Finally, the science of distilling may allay many consumer concerns regarding the use of genetically modified grains to make our spirits. During our distillation process, the DNA associated with grain substrates, including genetically modified grain substrates, are destroyed by heat during two main processes: mashing the ingredients at a high temperature, and distilling at a high temperature for a sustained period of time. This process separates solid organic material in the mash, including any DNA, from the final distillate we use to make our products.

Allergens
We currently use thousands of ingredients in the alcoholic beverages that we produce for you. Some of our products contain ingredients that are allergens, including milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts and soybean. Other products do not contain allergens, but are made in a facility with allergens. Food items sold in our distilleries have allergen labeling; for those products, please consult the label.

Organic
Our Buffalo Trace Distillery is a certified organic distillery and we have produced an organic whiskey which is currently aging in oak barrels.

Kosher
We work with the Chicago Rabbinical Council (cRc) for our Kosher program and certifications.

Currently, our Buffalo Trace Distillery, Barton 1792 Distillery, Barton Brands of California and Glenmore Distillery are capable of producing Kosher-certified products.

We have been making what we believe to be the first and only truly Kosher whiskey due to the extraordinary lengths that we have gone to in making sure that the entire supply chain, including the barrels are Kosher compliant. Further, when the whiskey is fully aged and ready for sale we will be taking specific steps to ensure that the whiskey passes down through the distributor and retailer channel in full compliance with Kosher law.

Vegan
With the exception of certain cream based and honey-flavored products, the majority of our products are made without the use of animal products. If you have particular questions about the vegan status of any of our products, please contact us.

   ©2018 Sazerac Co. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms Of Use | Modern Slavery Act | Accessibility Policy